The Creepiest Addiction: American Horror Story

Many of my friends have been watching a show called American Horror story; they’ve been trying to convince me to join them and watch it for over a year. Currently, the show is in the middle of its third season on television, and I figured I should just wait until the next season to begin watching. Wrong. I bought my friend the first season of American Horror Story called Murder House, on DVD for Christmas.

The creepy promotional poster for season one of AHS, Murder House.

The creepy promotional poster for season one of AHS, Murder House.

Little did I know that she would make me watch it with her, followed by the second season, Asylum, also on DVD.
Season two of AHS changed themes to a scary mental institution version; this is the promotional poster.

Season two of AHS changed themes to a scary mental institution version; this is the promotional poster.

Let’s just say that it was quite the life-changing TV show marathon- watching something so eerie in the dark under our blankets, on the edge of the couch.
I cannot even begin to explain what the show is like. Each season is differently themed, yet the same actors/actresses appear with different names, personalities, and story lines; each season has literally no connection story-wise to any other season. It’s like a completely remodeled show each year. The cast is phenomenal; each person plays multiple roles for the show, revealing how incredibly diverse their acting skills are. But, getting back to the actual show, it is peculiar, to put it lightly. I have never seen a more morbid, yet wonderfully comedic and heartwarming show.
Events in the episodes unfold as if they are a creepy story being told with views from the past and from the present; you never quite know what is real and what isn’t, but perhaps that is the best part. The show plays tricks on your mind and causes you to think about things you might have never considered otherwise. In all honesty, I originally thought that the show was only freaky and had no real value for me, but as it turns out I am addicted to the subtle comedy, brash vocabulary, wild antics, and the strenuously odd relationships between the characters. I rarely find a show I like so much. Round of applause for American Horror Story for scaring my socks off AND being a show with real meaning; such a rare combination for TV shows these days.
On a side note, I couldn’t be happier to announce that the fourth season of American Horror Story will be aired on television as planned, titled Circus.
One of many eerie promotional posters for AHS fourth season, Circus.

One of many eerie promotional posters for AHS fourth season, Circus.

But before I get around to watching that when it gets onto the internet, I need to watch the third season, Coven.
The main poster for AHS season three, coven. Although it doesn't look like it has much to do with witches...

The main poster for AHS season three, coven. Although it doesn’t look like it has much to do with witches…

There’s so much time that has gone by without me keeping up with the show, which originally began in 2012; I only just now jumped on the bandwagon. (Props for my friend for making me finally watch it though!) I know there will be much to come and many twists to unfurl in the coming season episodes; the anticipation is excruciating.
I advise you to check it out, even if the show doesn’t seem like something you would enjoy; you probably won’t regret it, unless you’re an easy scare. If you need more convincing, American Horror Story even won some People’s Choice Awards so obviously the general public is under its spell; read this post for more:https://comeongetreal.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=379&action=edit&message=1
Watch it. Love it. Promote it. American Horror Story.

Leave a comment